Local farm contender for national Māori farming award

Te Puni Kōkiri Te Arawa Regional Director Wally Tangohau was amongst the supporters and judges visiting the Waewaetutuki 10 dairy unit in the final judging round of the 2012 Ahuwhenua Trophy – BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award Dairy.

Published: Thursday, 10 May 2012 | Rāpare, 10 Haratua, 2012

Te Puni Kōkiri Te Arawa Regional Director Wally Tangohau was amongst the supporters and judges visiting the Waewaetutuki 10 dairy unit in the final judging round of the 2012 Ahuwhenua Trophy – BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award Dairy.

Held on the Wharepī Whānau Trust’s farm, Waewaetutuki dairy unit is the last of those three finalists, to welcome supporters and judges to their farm for the final judging round.

“It’s exciting that we have farms from our region in the Finals for this prestigious competition. It’s a sign of the times – agribusiness is integral to the Māori economy,” said Mr Tangohau. “The asset base of the 2010 Māori economy was estimated at $36.9 billion and of this, agriculture accounted for $2.5b (2010: BERL Report).”

Mr Tangohau congratulated all of the finalists and said as one of four major sponsors, Te Puni Kōkiri is proud to once again be involved in the Ahuwhenua Trophy Competition. The other two finalists are: Tauhara Moana Trust, Taupō, and Kapenga M Trust, Rotorua.

The Ahuwhenua Trophy competition was established in 1932 by the then Minister of Native Affairs Sir Apirana Ngata, and Governor-General Lord Bledisloe for competition amongst ‘Māori farmers and settlers on Native Land Development Schemes’.

When the competition was founded, Ngata was progressing Māori land development initiatives. Initially the competition was only open to farmers in the Waiariki land district. These days the competition attracts entries from properties run by trusts, incorporations and individual Māori farmers that range from successful whānau based farms to large-scale corporate agribusinesses from all around Aotearoa-New Zealand.

“The farming work of the Wharepī Whānau Trust provides Ngāti Pūkenga uri (descendants) with an economic pillar to support their aspirations. When you look at the history of the competition,” Mr Tangohau said, “I’m sure that our kōroua, Apirana Ngata, had just this type of entrepreneurship in mind.”

The winner will receive a replica of the Ahuwhenua Trophy, a medal and prizes to a value of not less than $40,000. The three finalists will receive a medal and prizes to a value of not less than $15,000.

The winner will be announced at the 2012 Ahuwhenua Trophy – Dairy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award dinner, in Auckland on 8 June 2012.


Contact: Wally Tangohau, Te Puni Kōkiri Te Arawa Regional Director, mobile: 027 280 9259
Pamela Flemming, Ahuwhenua Trophy competition, mobile: 027 457 5677

Background information:


The Wharepī Whānau Trust is a finalist in the 2012 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming (Dairy) competition.

Waewaetutuki 10, a 71 hectare dairy unit situated 15 kilometres from Te Puke, is owned by the Wharepī Whānau Trust. It is made up of two blocks, each of which had been leased for 30 years before they were amalgamated in 2000 to form Waewaetutuki 10. In 2009 the owners took over the management of the whenua with the assistance of the Māori Trustee.

Shortly after Waewaetutuki 10’s herd of Friesian milking cows increased from 178 to 200. Milk production increased from 45,000kgs of milk solids in 2008 to an expected ‘end of this season’ estimate of 72,000kgs of milk solids.

In 2010 the Wharepī Whānau Trust leased a further 21 hectares close to Waewaetutuki 10 to cater for the increase in stock numbers. This fits in with the Trusts’ long term strategy of expanding its farming operation by acquiring more land in order to sustain an economic base for its owners. The Wharepī Whānau Trust administers the land for around 60 shareholders, all of whom have links to Ngati Pukenga iwi.

At the time of the amalgamation, the Wharepī Whānau Trust put the regular distribution of dividends and kaumātua grants on hold while it instituted its new management regime. This year, however, they are in a position to pay kaumātua grants for the first time since the change and are considering distributions to owners and education grants as well.

Waewaetutuki 10 has 60 hectares in pasture, six hectares in maize production and five in waterways. It has upgraded its effluent discharge system and has worked alongside its neighbours and Transit NZ to clear side drains on State highway 2 to prevent continued flooding of its land.

“A robust waste management strategy is paramount,” said Trust Chair, Rehua Smallman.

“The Kaikōkopu Stream that flows into the Little Waihī Estuary and is well known for fishing and kaimoana gathering runs close to our eastern boundary and we are committed to ensuring it, and our wider environment, are not compromised.”

About the the Ahuwhenua Trophy – BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award Dairy

Each year the Ahuwhenua Trophy competition, which was first established in 1932 by Sir Apirana Ngata, alternates between sheep and beef farmers and dairy farmers.

This is the fourth year since the competition was revived that entrants will compete for the Ahuwhenua Trophy for Excellence in Māori dairy farming.

The Ahuwhenua Trophy is the premier award for Māori in agribusiness. It acknowledges and celebrates business excellence in the New Zealand pastoral sector and is open to Māori farming properties either owned individually, or managed by Māori Trusts and Incorporations in New Zealand.

BNZ is the Platinum Sponsor for the Award.Gold sponsors are Fonterra, DairyNZ and Te Puni Kōkiri. Silver sponsors are AgResearch, AgITO, PGG Wrightson and Ballance Agri-Nutrients. Bronze sponsors are Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Allflex, AFFCO, BDO, Māori Trustee, LIC, Re:Gen and Polaris. Sponsor support will also be supplied by Tohu Wines, FoMA, Landcorp, Agrecovery and Ecolab.