2015 New Year’s Honours

Te Puni Kōkiri pays tribute to the recipients of the New Year Honour’s 2015.


Published: Rāapa, 21 Kohitātea, 2015 | Wednesday, 21 January 2015

The following were appointed to the New Zealand Order of Merit for their contributions to the Māori community: 

  • The Honourable Tariana Turia was made a Dame for services as a Member of Parliament (DNZM).
  • Robin Cooper was made a Companion of New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM), for services to Māori health.

The following were made Officers of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM),

  • Dr Monty Soutar, of Gisborne. For services to Māori and historical research.
  • Kukupa Tirikatene, of Auckland. For services to Māori and education.
  • Colleen Elizabeth Urlich, JP, of Dargaville. For services to Māori art.
  • Roma Hippolite, of Keilor, Australia, was made a Member (MNZM) for services to Māori and health.

The following were awarded a Queen’s Service Medal (QSM) for services to Māori,

  • Aroha Campbell
  • Teariki Mei
  • Hoana Pearson

Te Puni Kōkiri congratulates the recipients and recognise their contributions on shaping the destiny of whānau, hapū and Iwi Māori, and New Zealand.

[Read more]