Te Mātāwai

Membership of Te Mātāwai – the new organisation established to lead reo Māori revitalisation on behalf of iwi and Māori – is almost finalised and it’s likely it will hold its first meeting in late October 2016.

Published: Monday, 25 July 2016 | Rāhina, 25 Hōngongoi, 2016

Te Mātāwai was established under Te Ture mō te reo Māori 2016 (the Māori Language Act 2016) which passed in Parliament in April.

Its responsibilities include promoting the health and well-being of the language; supporting and informing Crown initiatives in protecting and revitalising the language and nominating board members to Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori, Te Māngai Pāho and Māori Television. It will also be responsible for developing the Maihi Māori – a new Māori Language Strategy for Māori which will complement the Crown strategy.

Te Mātāwai reflects a new way of the Crown working with iwi and Māori.  Under the legislation 11 of its 13 members are selected by clusters of iwi and reo Māori stakeholder organisations.  Two members are appointed by the Minister for Māori Development.

When the legislation passed, iwi clusters and sector groups mobilised to begin their selection processes for suitable members.  Most of the 13 appointments have been made and you can keep up to date with these appointments here.

Once all iwi and reo tukutuku appointments are confirmed, the Minister of Māori Development will appoint the final two members.

Current membership for Te Mātāwai board includes:  Pānia Papa, selected by Tainui; Bentham Ohia selected by Mātaatua; Cathy Dewes selected by Te Arawa; Jeremy Tātere MacLeod selected by Te Tai Rāwhiti and Ruakere Hond selected by Te Tai Hau-ā-uru.  Mereana Selby has been selected by education organisations; Scotty Morrison by media organisations; Hiria Hape by community-based organisations; and Willie Jackson by urban Māori.