Vital words – Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa

Te Puni Kōkiri is proud to be associated with three of this year’s 15 finalists – one of which won its category. Finalists were selected from an overall pool of 60 Māori books.


Published: Rāpare, 17 Mahuru, 2015 | Thursday, 17 September 2015

Congratulations to the six category winners of Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards 2015, announced last week.

Finalist, Te Kōrero Pono – Non-Fiction: Ahuwhenua: A history of Māori Farming, by Danny Keenan and published by Huia Publishers.

Te Puni Kōkiri is a proud sponsor of the Ahuwhenua Trophy Competition. The Ahuwhenua Trophy competition Trustees are the Minister of Māori Affairs, the Minister of Primary Industries and the Chief Executive of Te Puni Kōkiri.


Winner, The Kōrero o Mua (History): Tangata Whenua: an illustrated history, by Atholl Anderson, Judith Binney and Aroha Harris; and published by Bridget Williams Books.

Te Puni Kōkiri supported the development of Tangata Whenua: An illustrated history in line with our priority area to increase Māori cultural wealth. You can read our story from Kōkiri 31 here.


Finalist, Te Haurongo – Biography: Parekura Horomia "Kia ora Chief", by Wira Gardiner and published by Huia Publishers.

Māori Development Minister Te Ururoa Flavell and Te Puni Kōkiri hosted the Pōneke launch of Kia ora Chief! You can read our story from Kōkiri 31 here.


Now in their seventh year, Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards are supported by Te Puni Kōkiri and run by Massey University.


Photo caption: Winners of the Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards Left back – Rawinia Higgins, Des Kahotea, Aroha Harris, Atholl Anderson, Bishop Muru Walters, Robin Walters, Sam Walters and Susan Mitchell (on behalf of Hilary and John Mitchell. Left front – Vincent Olsen-Reeder,  Te Ripowai Higgins,  Dame Iritana Tawhiwhirangi and Renia Whaitiri.


[Read more]