

Cabinet Social Outcomes Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Exempting Post Settlement Governance Entities from the Supervisory Jurisdiction of the Māori Land Court

Portfolio Māori Crown Relations: Te Arawhiti

On 4 June 2025, the Cabinet Social Outcomes Committee:

- 1 **agreed** that each post-settlement governance entity (PSGE) that requests it, be exempt from sections 237 to 245 of Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993 the supervisory jurisdiction of the Māori Land Court;
- 2 **noted** that each PSGE that requests this exemption has formally confirmed or will confirm they have followed their respective trust deed responsibilities for making a decision of this nature;
- 3 **agreed** that the Bill that will provide the exemption (the Bill) will list the PSGEs to be exempt in a schedule;
- 4 **agreed** that the Bill will authorise that other PSGEs, trusts established to represent a collective or combination of claimant groups, and hapū or other trusts that receive or which receive Treaty of Waitangi settlement redress can be added to the schedule by Order in Council (if the trust consents and the Minister for Māori Crown Relations: Te Arawhiti (the Minister) is satisfied that an exemption is appropriate);
- 5 **agreed** that the Bill provide that the PSGEs listed in the schedule may refer any dispute to the Māori Land Court for mediation under Part 3A of Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993, by agreement of the disputing parties;
- 6 **invited** the Minister to instruct the Parliamentary Counsel Office to draft the exempting Bill to implement the decisions under SOU-25-MIN-0066;
- 7 **authorised** the Minister to make technical policy decisions as needed to support the drafting instructions, in line with the decisions under SOU-25-MIN-0066.

Jenny Vickers Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Nicola Willis Hon Chris Bishop Hon Paul Goldsmith Hon Louise Upston (Chair) Hon Mark Mitchell Hon Tama Potaka Hon Matt Doocey Hon Nicole McKee Hon Casey Costello Hon Karen Chhour Hon Nicola Grigg Hon Scott Simpson Officials present from: Officials Committee for SOU

isterformad

Released Belations