

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Plan: Report Back on Development

Portfolio Māori Development

On 7 December 2022, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- noted that in June 2021, Cabinet invited te Minita Whanaketanga Māori to report back in April 2022 to seek approval of a draft plan in support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (the Declaration plan) and a proposal for wider public consultation [SWC-21-MIN-0083];
- noted that te Minita Whanaketanga Māori, in consultation with delegated Ministers, has worked with Pou Tikanga representatives of the National Iwi Chairs Forum and the Human Rights Commission to develop a draft Declaration plan, however no draft Declaration plan has been agreed and time has run out for public engagement on that draft in 2022 as had initially been planned;
- agreed to defer the report back to the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee on a draft Declaration plan for public consultation until early 2024;
- 4 **noted** that the Government remains committed to progressing this work further, consistent with the obligations that have been signalled by Aotearoa New Zealand since committing to support the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in 2010;
- authorised the Minister of Finance and te Minita Whanaketanga Māori to develop a public engagement plan and to approve any funding required to increase Māori and public awareness, understanding, and engagement with the Declaration plan;
- invited the Minister of Finance and te Minita Whanaketanga Māori to report back to SWC on any funding decisions taken and, prior to any public engagement, with a proposed public engagement plan.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Attendance: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the Chair Officials Committee for SWC