

# Cabinet Legislation Committee

## Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

### Māori Purposes Bill Approval for Introduction

#### Portfolio Māori Development

On 28 October 2021, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that the Māori Purposes Bill holds a Category 4 priority on the 2021 Legislation Programme (to be introduced within 2021);
- 2 **noted** that the Māori Purposes Bill amends Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993 to:
  - 2.1 ensure the Ruapuha Uekaha Hapū Trust can continue to exist and exercise powers, rights, and duties in a manner consistent with the 1990 settlement of Wai 51;
  - 2.2 address technical and non-controversial matters identified with Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993 but not included in Te Ture Whenua Māori (Succession, Dispute Resolution, and Related Matters) Amendment Act 2020;
- 3 **noted** that the Māori Purposes Bill amends the Maori Purposes Act 1959 to give the Lake Rotoaira Trust more autonomy and flexibility in managing Lake Rotoaira and its trout fishery;
- 4 **noted** that the Māori Purposes Bill makes technical and non-contentious amendments to the following legislation:
  - 4.1 Maori Trust Boards Act 1955;
  - 4.2 Maori Community Development Act 1962;
- 5 **approved** for introduction the Māori Purposes Bill [PCO 20426/1.33], subject to the final approval of the government caucus and sufficient support in the House of Representatives;
- 5 **agreed** that the Māori Purposes Bill be introduced on the first available date after Cabinet has approved the Māori Purposes Bill for introduction; and
- 6 **agreed** that the government propose that the Māori Purposes Bill be:
  - 6.1 referred to the Māori Affairs Select Committee for consideration; and
  - 6.2 enacted, if possible, by 30 June 2022.

#### IN CONFIDENCE

#### Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Stuart Nash Hon Willie Jackson Hon Michael Wood Hon Dr David Clark Kieran McAnulty, MP

#### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG