Te Mātāwai clusters

Te Mātāwai will be governed by 13 members – seven to be appointed by iwi clusters, four by te reo tukutuku clusters of te reo Māori stakeholder organisations, and two by the Minister for Māori Development.

The seven iwi clusters are:

- Te Tai Tokerau
- Tainui
- Mātaatua
- Te Arawa
- Te Tai Rāwhiti
- Te Tai Hau-ā-uru
- Te Waipounamu.

Te reo tukutuku clusters are:

- Education
- Media
- Community
- Urban.

Our reo

The purpose of the new act is to revitalise the Māori language, and to affirm the status of the Māori language as;

- the indigenous language of New Zealand
- a taonga of iwi and Māori
- a language valued by the nation
- an official language of New Zealand.

"My dream for Te Mātāwai is that by being closer to communities, it will have a greater influence in ensuring te reo Māori is normalised across all aspects of our society. It will encourage intergenerational conversation in te reo Māori and will support whānau, hapū and iwi to drive local language initiatives so that te reo Māori extends beyond the marae and the classrooms. My dream is to be able to walk into a bank or a shop and be able to conduct my business in English or te reo Māori."

Hon Te Ururoa Flavell Minister for Māori Development.

ISBN: 978-0-478-34570-4



Te Mātāwai – for te Reo Māori

Te Mātāwai is a new organisation established under Te Ture mō te Reo Māori 2016 (The Māori Language Act 2016) to lead revitalisation of te reo Māori on behalf of iwi and Māori.



Te Mātāwai – for iwi and Māori

Te Mātāwai is selected mostly by iwi and Māori.

While the legislation includes some steps that must be followed, it is largely over to iwi and Māori language stakeholder groups to decide how they appoint a skilled member to Te Mātāwai.

Selection process

Under Te Ture mō te Reo Māori, iwi are included in one of seven geographically-based clusters.

Each iwi in the cluster can nominate one representative to their iwi cluster selection group.

At least 60% of the iwi in an iwi cluster must nominate a representative to their iwi cluster selection group, in order for the selection group to be formed.

Each iwi cluster selection group appoints one member to Te Mātāwai so that there are seven members of Te Mātāwai who are selected by iwi.

Under Te Ture mō te Reo Māori, organisations with a background in te reo Māori revitalisation are included in one of four category-based "te reo tukutuku" clusters.

Each organisation must nominate one representative to their te reo tukutuku cluster selection group.

Each te reo tukutuku cluster selection group then appoints one member to Te Mātāwai so that there are four members of Te Mātāwai who are selected by te reo Māori stakeholder organisations.

lwi clusters and te reo tukutuku clusters set up their own selection groups and decide their own appointment processes.

Te Puni Kōkiri is available to advise and support clusters during this process.

The official selection processes will begin once the bill becomes law.

The Minister for Māori Development will make two appointments to Te Mātāwai once all other appointments have been confirmed.



Being a member of Te Mātāwai

The knowledge, skills, and experience needed for Te Mātāwai include:

- Māori language proficiency
- management
- Māori language revitalisation
- Māori culture
- governance
- central government operations
- · community development.

What will Te Mātāwai do?

The primary focus for Te Mātāwai will be on revitalising the Māori language at iwi, Māori and community levels.

Through Te Mātāwai, iwi and Māori will be in partnership with the Crown. Each have a role to revitalise te reo Māori and they will each develop language strategies that will work together.

Te Mātāwai will:

- develop the Maihi Māori strategy
- contribute to the Maihi Karauna strategy
- advise and provide guidance to all Ministers and government agencies that can help revitalise te reo Māori
- take over the functions of Te Pūtahi Paoho under the Māori Television Service Act 2003, including appointing four of the seven directors to the Māori Television Service
- nominate three of the five appointments to the boards of Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori and Te Māngai Pāho
- administer government-funded te reo Māori community language programmes.