Q and A: the Māori Language Advisory Group's Proposal

What is the role of the Māori Language Advisory Group?

The Māori Language Advisory Group was set up by the Minister for Māori Development in December last year to provide him with expert independent advice on the Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill. The Advisory Group is due to present its final report to the Minister at the end of June 2015.

Why is the Māori Language Advisory Group consulting on this draft proposal?

The draft proposal has been developed by the Advisory Group since December 2014. The Advisory Group has been consulting with groups and individuals as it has developed its proposal. It wants to test it further and decided to undertake wider consultation before finalising the proposal and reporting to the Minister.

Why is the Māori Language Advisory Group consulting on the draft proposal and not the Minister?

This is the Advisory Group's consultation process. Once the consultation has finished, information obtained from the process will inform the final report which will go to the Minister.

Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill

What are the key features of the Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill?

The Bill affirms that the Māori language is a taonga of iwi and Māori and continues to be an official language of New Zealand. It establishes Te Mātāwai, a governance-focused entity accountable to iwi and Māori. Te Mātāwai would be an independent statutory entity with seven members selected by regional groups of iwi, three by Te Reo Tukutuku (Māori language stakeholders) and two by the Crown.

What is the role of Te Mātāwai?

Te Mātāwai would have a number of functions, but the most significant involves it overseeing the two Crown entities focused on Māori language revitalisation, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori and Te Māngai Pāho. To enable Te Mātāwai to have oversight of these entities, the Bill changes their status from Crown entities to independent statutory entities.

Te Mātāwai will have other functions including: advising on the Government's Māori Language Strategy, negotiating purchase agreements; and taking over the responsibilities of Te Pūtahi Paoho (the Māori Television Electoral College).

What is the membership of Te Mātāwai?

Te Mātāwai will have 12 members. Seven to be appointed by iwi, one from each of the seven regional clusters, three by Te Reo Tukutuku and two by the Minister for Māori development.

Where are the regional clusters?

The seven regional clusters comprise Te Tai Tokerau (including Tamaki iwi), Tainui (including Hauraki iwi), Mataatua, Te Arawa, Te Tai Rāwhiti, Te Tai Hau-ā-uru and Te Waipounamu.

What will happen to Te Taura Whiri and Te Mangai Paho?

Under the Te Reo Māori Bill, Te Mātāwai will be responsible for both Te Taura Whiri and Te Māngai Pāho. They will cease to be Crown Entities and will become statutory entities. Te Taura Whiri will promote language and culture as a living language and Te Māngai Pāho will do the same through broadcasting.

What will happen to the Māori Television Service?

Te Mātāwai will exercise leadership and oversight of the Māori Television Service jointly with the Minister of Finance and the Minister for Māori Development.

Public submissions

What issues were raised by public submitters on the Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill?

The key issues raised at the Māori Affairs Committee:

- There is a perception that the Crown is stepping back too far from its responsibilities to the Māori Language.
- The membership of Te Mātāwai is too iwi-focused with a lack of representation for urban Māori, and too few language experts.
- There is insufficient focus on improving the Māori language strategy and the cross-government response.
- There are unclear lines of accountability to both the Crown and Māori for the entities in the Bill

Māori Language Advisory Group proposal

What does the Māori Language Advisory Group consider the purpose should be of the Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill?

The Advisory Group considers that the Bill should establish clear direction and strategies for te reo Māori, create opportunities for Māori to determine and drive Māori language outcomes, clarify the roles and functions of both Māori and Crown and encourage and support greater collaboration in relation to te reo Māori.

What are the key features of the Māori Language Advisory Group's proposal?

The draft proposal proposes that Te Mātāwai has a broader focus, with roles in governance, funding, strategy and coordination. It also proposes the creation of a *Rautaki Reo: Crown* to focus on language planning at a national level and a *Rautaki Reo: Māori* to focus on language planning at a community level, both to be guided by the same vision for the Māori language.

How will Ruataki Reo: Crown be supported?

A governance group comprising members of Te Mātāwai and relevant Crown Ministers would be created. This governance group would be called Te Rūnanga Reo. A group of chief executives would also be created to support implementation.

What changes are proposed for Te Mātāwai?

The draft proposal proposes that Te Mātāwai functions would include leading the development and implementation of *Rautaki Reo: Māori*, advising members of Te Rūnanga Reo on, and progressing opportunities for cross-sector collaboration and reviewing statements of intent and annual work-plans for Government agencies with responsibilities to the Māori language.

In addition, it also proposes that Te Mātāwai allocates funding to enable community language development and that it appoints two of five members to each of the Boards of Te Taura Whiri and Te Māngai Pāho.

Is it proposed that the representation on Te Mātāwai will change?

As with the current Bill, seven members of Te Mātāwai will be chosen by the regional clusters of iwi. Representation from Te Reo Tukutuku (stakeholders group) would be increased from three to four. The two Crown appointments would be replaced by appointments made by Te Mātāwai itself.

What will happen to Te Taura Whiri and Te Māngai Pāho?

Under the Māori Language Advisory Group proposal, Te Taura Whiri and Te Māngai Pāho would remain as autonomous Crown entities, with standard accountability arrangements, rather than made independent statutory entities as proposed in the Bill.